Snap and Savor: Day 24

The Snap

The calm after the storm.

In my mind I snapped a photo in the middle of the toddler storm at the airport gate. She was wailing and flailing for not much other reason than utter fatigue. And maybe I would have snapped it but for the urgency of preparing a quick bit of baby food before another little one joined the unwelcomed chorus.

20130607-003608.jpg

The Savor

To remember the little boy who tried to comfort her, and then ran to me in distress rambling in Japanese, telling me that he was trying to help her…or perhaps that I should go get her myself.

To remember the old lady with yellow teeth and deep smile lines who 20 minutes later came up to us with a knowing face and said ‘nemui ne?’ (tired, right?). I guess the signs are universal.

A reminder that these stormy yes-thats-my-kid moments do not have to ruin the day (or make us rethink our travel plans) if we breathe gratefulness and pray peace. And in those breaths, the moments after the storm can be so redeeming (thus, The Snap).

[To see what this 70 days of Snap and Savor is all about, see Day 1.]

One thought on “Snap and Savor: Day 24

Would you connect and share your thoughts?

