Snap and Savor: Day 56

The Snap

On the road and following my iPhone map today, I was estimating about how far our destination was off the freeway. It looked pretty close, but we’d have to wait and see when we got closer. Then it suddenly occurred to me…wait, I can read the turn-by-turn directions! For the past three years, the turn-by-turn directions in Japan were my closest encounter with illiteracy since before kindergarten.

20130708-235817.jpg

The Savor

An infrequent reminder in our developed nation, where we largely take for granted the opportunity to be educated, that I am grateful to read. Grateful for parents who read books to me over and over, sat patiently with me to stumble through each new sound, and took me to the library to discover.

To remember that literacy is not a measure of intelligence. At least, in my case, I certainly hope not!

[To see what this 70 days of Snap and Savor is all about, see Day 1.]

Would you connect and share your thoughts?

